Greek yogurt, part 2

I made an excellent batch of Greek yogurt with the almond extract but unfortunately I didn’t write down the measurements. It was very good so I’ll be making some more eventually and will record the measurements next time.

Another good one was with the vanilla yogurt, cardamom, and ginger; 1/2 teaspoon cardamom and 1/4 teaspoon ginger. After two days it seemed a bit too spicy, but that was also after letting it sit on the counter for an hour so it could warm up to room temperature. The first two batches were fine, but they were also cold from the fridge.

The latest batch was made with vanilla yogurt, 1/2 teaspoon cardamom, and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. So far the cardamom is overpowering the cinnamon. I need to try making a batch with only cinnamon to see how much cinnamon is needed. This also makes me wonder if the above cardamom and ginger combination had too much cardamom or not enough ginger; probably too much cardamom.

I also want to try a batch with only allspice to see how that works. I need to make some baseline batches using only one of each spice and figure out how much spice is needed for the best flavor.

Another idea I have is to make a peach yogurt with dried peaches that I get at my health food store. It will be somewhat involved; my plan is to cut the dried peaches into itty bitty pieces and distribute them between the three tubs, putting them at the bottom of the tubs where the whey collects. Then spoon the yogurt into the coffee filters which are put in the tubs, over the diced dried peaches, and let that sit and drain for a day. The whey drainage will plump up the dried peaches. On the second day take the plumped dried peaches and put them in a strainer to drain off the excess whey. Then take the yogurt out of the coffee strainers and put it in a bowl big enough to hold it. Put the plumped dried peaches in a mini food processor with several tablespoons of the yogurt and process until smooth. Then put that in the bowl with the rest of the yogurt and stir well. Then put it back into the coffee filters and let it drain some more. The dried peaches are really good by themselves so this could come out very well. They also have dried pears, but they are rather bland, and dried apples, which to me have an odd taste, but maybe it would improve if used in yogurt, with some cinnamon added.

(Jump to my introductory Greek yogurt entry if you’re wondering what I’m doing. You may also want to read my flavor ideas entry.)

Leave a Reply

