Pfefferkuchen Greek yogurt?

anise extract
I bought a bottle of anise extract yesterday. I’m trying to work up the nerve to use the stuff.

I did a search on allrecipes.com for recipes with both of the ingredients anise and cardamom and one of the recipes was for pfefferkuchen cookies which are made with 1 teaspoon ground anise seed, 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom, 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 3/4 teaspoon ground cloves, 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon, and 1 1/2 teaspoons grated lemon zest. Did they leave any spice out? Almond extract perhaps.

Then there’s the recipe for sigtebrod, a Danish spiced rye bread which uses 1 tablespoon grated orange zest, 1 tablespoon fennel seed, 1 tablespoon anise seed, 1 tablespoon caraway seed, and 1 tablespoon cardamom. Doesn’t sound too good to me; I’m not a big fan of caraway either.

Next was a search for allspice and anise. That yielded some cookies which used 2 teaspoons ground cloves, 2 teaspoons ground allspice, and 2 teaspoons anise oil.

Anise, vanilla, and clove got a few hits. I haven’t done anything with clove yet. I think I’ll try that.

(Jump to my introductory Greek yogurt entry if you’re wondering what I’m doing. You may also want to read my flavor ideas entry.)

Leave a Reply

