Pressure cooker brown rice: success

I would call it a definite success. I let the brown rice soak for 7 hours. I used 1 cup long grain brown rice (it’s from Texas so I’m guessing it’s texmati rice) and 1.5 cups of water. Covered the metal bowl with aluminum foil and crimped around the edges. Cooked it in the bowl in the pressure cooker (bain marie method) for 20 minutes and let the pressure release naturally.

It may have been overcooked; the rice was definitely sticky, but I like it that way. That’s the way it was cooked when I was in Japan, although that was white rice.

I couldn’t resist eating it; I drizzled some olive oil over it, stirred it well, and gobbled it all down. Starch heaven.

Leave a Reply

