Tortilla chips, a work in progress

I’ve changed the recipe below; I was baking them at 350 but that was slightly too hot, so I’ve lowered it to 325, and increased the time from 20 minutes to 25. They also needed a bit more oil so that the dough holds together when running it through the pasta machine.

I made a batch where I added 2 tablespoons of potato starch (in addition to the tapioca starch), then another batch where I added the potato starch and 2 tablespoons of arrowroot powder (again, also with the tapioca starch). I think that the potato starch is muting the corn flavor; I need to make a batch with only the tapioca and arrowroot and see how that turns out. I should also try it with only the arrowroot.

I made a batch with 1/2 teaspoon sage and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper. The pepper gives it a definite kick, although the burn is delayed. The sage gave it a weird flavor. Perhaps combining the sage with other stuff might work. I got the idea for sage from a recipe for herbed bread that used sage, rosemary, and chives. I should try onion powder. And garlic powder.

The oil definitely helps the dough hold together but the chips are rather oily. I’ll should try again with 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon of oil.

I also want to try it with an addition of some other flour; for example, 3/4 cup of masa harina and 1/4 cup rye. It also occurred to me that the health food store sells regular corn flour (not nixtamalized); it would be interesting to try replacing 1/4 cup of the masa harina with that.

Leave a Reply

