Fusion cuisine tortilla chips

I’ve never liked the term fusion cuisine, but this next batch definitely falls into that category.

But first some other stuff.

I had another “Duh!” moment this morning when I was looking at the bag of masa harina and looked at their recipes for tortilla dough. I had gotten my recipe off the net somewhere; it said 2 cups masa harina and 1 cup of water. I’ve halved that which works nicely for these experiments. On the bag it had several proportions, and one was 1 cup water and 2/3 cup of water. No wonder I’ve always needed to add a few more tablespoons of water.

I’d forgotten to mention that the with the buttermilk tortilla chips the buttermilk mutes the tortilla flavor of the masa harina. That’s why the half batch I made with sesame seeds didn’t taste like asparagus. That batch started out with buttermilk substituted for the water. After I’d used half of the dough I kneaded in some sesame seeds.

I normally buy vanilla flavored Blue Diamond almond milk. Yesterday I bought some unsweetened plain almond milk which I want to try with the masa harina. I also bought some corn oil and have switched to that instead of canola oil.

Back to the fusion cuisine.

This morning I was lying in bed thinking of things to add to the tortilla dough and had the outre idea of adding miso. I have some hatcho miso1 that I keep forgetting to use (or maybe it’s aka miso). Miso has this meaty umami2 flavor. The miso I have is very dark brown and very thick and sticky. I used 1 tablespoon and mixed it in a bowl with a little bit of water (the difference between 2/3 cup and 1/2 cup) and then added it to the dough along with 1/2 cup of water. The dough’s color is like coffee with cream. It’s mixed and wrapped in plastic and resting. I’ll bake it later today.

Should be interesting.

Notes:

1. Miso at wikipedia.com. See also the entry for hatcho miso at the Yamasa Institute.
2. Umami at wikipedia.com.

Leave a Reply

