Brown rice

I do tend to get stuck on eating the same thing over and over. I sometimes think I could live on brown rice. The night before last I made some brown rice in the pressure cooker using the bain marie method and put a chicken thigh on top of the brown rice. It was a different brand of brown rice than I’d previously bought. Before I was using 1.33 cups of water for 1 cup of brown rice but with this rice it was just a wee bit too hard. So last night I used 1.5 cups of water and it came out perfectly. This time I put a hot Italian sausage on top of the brown rice. Also in the To-Go Ware pot were 2 bay leaves, at least a tablespoon of fresh rosemary, and a half teaspoon of turmeric. I cooked it for 25 minutes and used the natural release method where you leave it on the stove and let the pressure go down on its own.

Of course the turmeric made the rice very yellow. I hadn’t ever used it before and was wondering what it tastes like. First bite and I realized; it’s the main ingredient in Indian curry. It was very good.

Where I live, in Concord California, which is California central valley weather, there’s rosemary everywhere. It seems like every other house has it in their yard. There’s a place by the bike trail where it’s planted on the other side of the fence for decoration between some condos and a bunch of it is growing through the fence. I could take an arm load of it home with me. I was thinking that I should grow some of my own, but why bother?

I really love the To-Go Ware for cooking in the pressure cooker. The one I have isn’t on their web site1 but their current ones look even better. Mine had a handle that stuck up too high when it was in the pressure cooker. Fortunately it was easy to remove with a sturdy screw driver and pliers to bend its tabs. The new ones have a handle that folds down. I paid a measly $8 for mine at TJ Max. I love TJ Max’s cooking section.

Notes:

1. To-Go Ware. You can get it from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

