Buckwheat crackers

I bought some buckwheat groats the last time I was at the health food store and last night I finally cooked a half cup of them in the pressure cooker with the bain marie method. I wasn’t quite sure what plain buckwheat tastes like. It came out ok; possibly overcooked but the flavor was reasonable. I made something with buckwheat a long time ago and I remember it tasting really strong so I have this bad memory about buckwheat, but I just need to get over it.

I decided to try making some crackers with buckwheat only, no other flour. I started with the same recipe I’ve been using with the tortilla chips; 1 cup of flour, but buckwheat this time, 0.5 teaspoon of salt, 1 tablespoon of oil slowly dribbled in until it’s well mixed, and 0.5 cup of water. The water I added slowly, 1 tablespoon at a time since I didn’t know how much the buckwheat needed. After about 0.75 of the half cup the dough started sticking together in a big glob, but I wanted to be sure it wasn’t going to be too dry so I added another tablespoon and let it mix for several minutes; suddenly it turned into a batter and was at the bottom of the mixer bowl. At that point I had to start adding more flour to bring it back to the thick dough I need for crackers. And I was trying to be slow adding the water. It’s a bit sticky but I’ll be able to handle it by oiling my hands, and it’s not as sticky as the previous rye and masa harina dough was. As usual, it’s resting and waiting for its squashing. I’m going to use the pasta machine’s rollers again.

Leave a Reply

