Buckwheat crackers verdict

I messed up and had to make a second batch; I burned the first batch. I was reading some recipes for crackers on the web and many were using 350 or 400 degree oven so I decided to turn my oven up for the last 5 minutes and they got burned.

So this morning I made another batch of dough, using up the last of the buckwheat flour I had on hand. I shouldn’t give the verdict until the next morning but I’m guessing it won’t be much different tomorrow morning. Basically they’re not bad, but nothing at all exciting or very interesting. Like the rye crackers they’re very hard and tough so the texture needs a lot of improvement.

After I remade the buckwheat dough I decided to go ahead and make some cracker dough with barley flour. It’s supposed to be similar to oat flour, imagine old fashioned rolled oats ground into a flour; you can do that in your blender and make your own. The barley crackers just went into the oven so we’ll see how they turn out.

I was thinking today about why crackers interest me. What I like about them is that the basic recipe is very simple; flour, a little salt, a little oil, and enough water to make a stiff dough. I like experimenting with different flours and crackers are a perfect vehicle for that. There are several other flours I want to try; teff, sorghum, oat, spelt, amaranth, and brown rice; each of which I have, although I didn’t see the brown rice flour; perhaps I’ve used it all. The health food store has more flours that I can try; garbanzo bean flour and quinoa, and I’m sure there are others that I’ve forgotten. I tried making muffins with coconut flour but that was never successful; it’s very dry and needs a lot of oil or water, or both. Maybe it would work better for crackers.

I should also say that I’m not a fan of the latest foolish fad, gluten free; I just like experimenting with different flours. (Although I realize that for people with celiac disease it’s not a fad.)

So far the masa harina and rye flours have been the most flavorful on their own. There are some things I could do to possibly boost the cracker’s flavor without resorting to herbs and spices; use butter instead of oil, use milk (almond, soy, or cow’s) instead of water, use an egg yolk for part of the water or milk.

Leave a Reply

