Barley crackers, still questing

No long rest, no long mixing, still tough. My newest idea is that it’s the slow bake at a lower temperature. I’m baking them at 300 to 325 for 20 to 25 minutes per side. I’m going to try raising the temperature to 350 and bake them for 15 minutes per side. The problem is that my oven is erratic and the temperature can spike to 400 to 450 when I’ve set it for what I think should be 350 (the dial says 300).

It’s an old electric range. I do like an electric stove/electric burners. The kitchen doesn’t get hot when they’re blazing away on high. And the oven doesn’t heat up the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

