Fermented rutabagas

fermenting rutabagas
I started this last night; it takes 8 days to ferment; it’s rutabagas, garlic, green onions, and some of those small Asian hot chillies. Now every time I come into my place it has this weird odor of fermenting rutabagas. So far, not a bad smell, but not a great smell. I also have 2 other containers with stuff fermenting; one is simply jalapenos and garlic, the other is a mixture of cauliflower, asparagus, bell pepper, green onions, garlic, and other stuff which I can’t remember. That one’s sure to stink. I may have to move them out to the garage if they start getting really rank. The jalapenos and cauliflower mixture pickles take about 3 weeks to ferment.

These are from the book The joy of pickling by Linda Ziedrich, a great book with many great recipes. The other book I’ve been reading is Wild fermentation: the flavor, nutrition, and craft of live-culture foods by Sandor Ellix Katz. That one is fun to read; he’s a real free spirit living in a hippie commune in Tennessee.

My goal is to make some kimchi; I’ve been buying some at the grocery store and can’t resist eating about half of it each day. It’s getting to be an expensive habit (although I’m always amazed at how great the prices are at FoodMaxx).

Notes:
[1] Linda Ziedrich’s web site.
[2] Sandor Katz’s Wild fermentation web site.
 
Leave a Reply

