Dried tomatos in olive oil

dried tomatos in olive oil
I resurrected my food dehydrator. To tell the truth, I bought a new one. I stupidly threw away the old one, which I hadn’t used for years, when I was doing a big clean up and getting rid of lots of stuff. I can console myself thinking that the old one was probably a fire hazard since it was so old, but the new one uses the same trays so I could have at least used the old trays, and especially the non-stick inserts, which I had to buy more of since it only comes with two.

They took a while to dry; at least 12 hours per batch. The instruction booklet for the dehydrator says to use the 145 temperature setting but that seemed a bit hot so I used 135. I didn’t remove the skins and that also slowed things down. For the next batch I think I’m going to try slitting the skins a bit. The tomatoes (plum tomatoes) were quartered and then placed on the drying trays. For the first half batch I seeded them by scraping out the seeds but then I read that the pulp and seeds have a lot of the umami flavor so for the second half batch I didn’t seed them. I did it in half batches because it’s hard to tell how many you need unless you make a point of writing everything down, stuff gets so much smaller when it’s dehydrated and I didn’t buy enough tomatoes the first time around.

After they dried I spritzed them with a little wine vinegar that has had some dried rosemary soaking in it, then tossed them in a big bowl to make sure they got well coated with it, and then let them rest for a few hours so that they soaked up the vinegar. Then I packed them in a jar and poured olive oil over them. I used a wooden dowel to tamp them down in the jar. I’ll keep tamping them down every so often for the next month while they’re aging.

As per this recommendation from the Colorado State University Cooperative Extension, I’ll be keeping them in the fridge:

Infused oil and oil-based mixtures of garlic, herbs or dried tomatoes can pose a health hazard if not kept refrigerated. In fact, a number of cases of botulism have been tied to these oils, commercial and home-prepared mixes, which were not refrigerated. Unfortunately, some harmful bacteria that these oils support can’t be easily detected because they do not affect the taste or smell of the products.

 
2 Comments on “Dried tomatos in olive oil”

  1. Cathy says:

    Drying the tomatoes is a great idea! I have a nice harvest of tomatoes this year and I’ve been looking for uses for them. Thanks for sharing.

  2. bubbles2u says:

    I found your link on the drying board, what a surprise! I too have a wordpress blog! Even tho it is about natural soaps and lip balms that I make, I do have a section called ramblings that I post all sorts of odd things on, like recipes for refridgerator pickles. I had so many cherry tomatoes this year that I tried oven drying them. All done in a few hours and that was for 2 large cookie sheets lined in foil. They are great, and yes, they are in the fridge, but they float a lot more than the heavier roma tomatoes that I normally use.


Leave a Reply

