Sorghum flour crackers: not looking good

I’ve decided to see how far I can get without using other flours; just sorghum flour. And a minimum of “dough texturizers;” xanthan gum, tapioca starch, potato starch, corn starch, arrowroot, etc.

Last night’s batch of just sorghum flour and masa harina was definitely a no-go; it was too crumbly and sticky. I had to toss it. I thought about trying again and adding some xanthan gum but then I decided to stick with just sorghum flour. But, as always, with 1/2 cup of wheat bran that’s been soaked.

So then I tried 3/4 cup of sorghum flour along with 3/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum. I was hoping that that wouldn’t be so crumbly. I could tell that it’s not going to be a great success, if a success at all, so after searching the web I decided to try adding 1 tablespoon of potato starch. It’s still too sticky so I may need to add some more sorghum flour.

When I was searching on the web I was struck again by how all of the recipes you find for gluten free baking use what could be best described as a witch’s brew of ingredients. Sorghum flour, rice flour, almond flour, tapioca starch, arrowroot flour, xanthan gum, ad nauseum, and all in the same recipe. And they use a lot of the starches; there’s one that calls for 3/4 cup of organic amaranth flour and 1/2 cup of arrowroot starch or cornstarch. On the plus side, that’s it for the flours and starches with that recipe. Oh wait, it also calls for 1/4 cup of almond meal.

I’m sort of annoyed and disappointed with the gluten free crowd in that no one seems to be interested in making something that focuses on the grains and tries to showcase their qualities and flavors; instead everything is some ersatz imitation of something that they remember from their days of eating wheat based stuff; ersatz graham crackers, ersatz saltine crackers, etc. So boring.

Anyhow, sorry for the rant. I’m just feeling discouraged because this doesn’t look like it’s going to be as straightforward as I was hoping it would be. Especially after the success with the barley flour.

Leave a Reply

