Sorghum flour crackers results

Everything went wrong. After the dough rested it was still too soggy and sticky. So I started adding starches; a tablespoon of arrowroot, a tablespoon of tapioca starch, a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten, and maybe even more of others. It finally got to the point of being workable so I let it rest a bit. Then I did the usual of rolling it into balls, then using the pasta machine to flatten it. But then when I was baking it I forgot to set the timer for the first 15 minutes and it ended up being overbaked and they were definitely scorched so into the veggie recycling bin they went.

On a whim I decided to make a batch with 1/4 cup masa harina, 1/4 cup barley flour, and 1/4 cup sorghum flour. I was worried about it not being stiff enough from the sorghum flour and masa harina so I added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. I think that was a mistake; they just finished cooling and they’re definitely a bit too tough. As usual, the masa harina flour really dominates the flavor of the crackers. Interestingly, the dough had this amazing pliable, plastic texture.

So maybe I can come up with a workable recipe using the sorghum flour and masa harina. I have a batch of that in the fridge which will rest overnight. I used 3/4 cup sorghum flour and 1/4 cup masa harina. I started out with just 3/4 cup of sorghum flour; I couldn’t remember what happened with the dough from the first batch. I was thinking that perhaps I was following the method I use with the barley flour where it turns into a ball of dough that bangs around in the mixer and then I add a wee bit more water until it turns into a stiff batter. But with the sorghum flour it never collects into a ball of dough. It’s like corn meal; it stays mealy and then as you add more water it turns into a batter. Before it turned into a batter I could tell it was fairly wet so I stopped the mixer and felt it; yep, quite wet. So then I decided to add 1/4 cup of masa harina. It still never pulled together into a ball but I added a bit more water and felt the dough. It’s a wee bit too wet but I’m hoping the overnight rest will correct that. It does hold together when you make a lump with it in your hand. Fingers are crossed.

Leave a Reply

