Back to barley crackers

In our last episode with the barley crackers, before I wandered down the sorghum flour path, I used arrowroot and cornstarch. Since I’ve figured out that re-baking them at a lower temperature ensures that they’re crispy I’ve wanted to try a batch without any added dough enhancer. So today’s batch is what I’ll call the basic barley cracker recipe:

3/4 cup barley flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup wheat bran, soaked in hot water, then well drained
1 tablespoon oil
1 or more tablespoons liquid

I’m now soaking the wheat bran in hot tap water; no need to boil the water first. After it’s drained I use the back of a spoon to press it against the strainer to press out as much water as possible.

Because of the variable amount of water in the wheat bran it’s not really possible to give an accurate measurement of the added liquid. I think that for today’s batch I probably added 2 to 3 tablespoons. Today I also decided to do an experiment and used unsweetened and unflavored almond milk (Blue Diamond Almond Breeze, to be exact).

I don’t remember what type of oil I last used but today it was peanut oil.

As usual the dough was quite sticky and was a bit worrisome but I reminded myself that it always gets better after resting an hour or more. Two hours in this case. And, as usual, after the dough had rested it was perfect. As before, I stopped adding the liquid only after the dough started coming apart and sticking to the bowl; I added about another 1/2 to 1 tablespoon of almond milk after it had collected together into a ball. When it’s in the ball stage it looks like it’s ready but it ends up being a bit too dry after the rest. Because it’s such a stiff dough and the amount of liquid is so small it needs to mix for several minutes to incorporate the tiny amount of liquid, which starts out mostly smeared on the inside of the bowl.

The crackers are currently in the oven for their first bake. I’m really hoping these come out well; the sorghum flour was such a disappointment. … Yes, these are going to work well. They’re a wee bit too dry; perhaps an additional 1 teaspoon of oil would help?

Update: definitely a bit too salty so I’ve changed the salt to from 1/2 teaspoon to 1/4 teaspoon.

Leave a Reply

