Tomato salsa with a boost

I have a surfeit of tomatoes so I’ve been drying some; I made the tomato salsa from Linda Ziedrich’s The Joy of Pickling because I was tiring of drying them. The salsa was a bit runny after processing the jars in a boiling water bath. She points out that you can drain it before you serve it.

It occurred to me that with all of these dried tomatoes I could use some of them with the drained salsa juice to beef up the salsa. So last night I dumped a jar of the salsa in a strainer over a bowl, then after it had drained a while I poured the juice back into the jar and put the drained salsa into another container and put it in the fridge. In the jar with the juice I put as many dried tomatoes as would remain covered under the juice and put it in the fridge. This morning I dumped the jar of the rehydrated tomatoes in my mini food chopper, which is also great for pureeing things, and pureed them. I was going to mix the tomato puree back in with the salsa but then it occurred to me to puree the salsa as well so it went in with the tomato puree and got the treatment as well. Now the salsa has a really nice boost of tomato flavor.

I think I prefer the salsa pureed; it’s easier to scoop up and I don’t have to worry about chunks of tomato or onions or whatever falling off the crackers.

2 Comments on “Tomato salsa with a boost”

  1. Lauren says:

    So it’s just uber-tomatoey then? Or did the dried tomatoes add a different flavor? This could be a good way to go about making enchilada sauce maybe?

    • Rusty Wright says:

      Both; uber-tomatoey and sweeter because the dried tomatoes are sweeter than regular tomatoes. It’s a bit thick, sort of between tomato paste and tomato sauce. It might well work as an enchilada sauce.


Leave a Reply

