Sorghum flour; hope springs eternal

I’m making a mini loaf of bread for rusks using 1/2 cup of sorghum flour and 1/2 cup of whole rye flour with onion:

1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup whole grain pumpernickel rye flour
1 cup wheat bran
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato
2 tablespoons oil
1 tablespoon dried onion flakes
1 teaspoon dried onion granules
1 cup water

I’m getting sort of optimistic and hoping this might make something decent; I like the exciting anticipation of thinking “Maybe this time!” Reminds me of the old Wide World of Sports tv show, “the thrill of victory” and “the agony of defeat” (insert video of ski jumper Vinko Bogataj crashing here). In my case it’s the thrill of the anticipation of victory. I’m hoping that the gooey quality of the rye will help the sorghum flour’s lack of spunk, or whatever it is it lacks.

Background note on this sorghum flour: I foolishly bought a bunch of it after reading about how wonderful it is on the internet; it has a low glycemic index, cures baldness, syphilis, stuttering, you name it. But for making crackers it was a complete dud. It’s too grainy; sort of like corn meal. And the flavor is definitely underwhelming.

While lying in bed this morning I was thinking that I could use the sorghum flour when trying different spices and flavors in the dough. Why waste the tasty barley or wheat flour for flavor experiments that didn’t work?

Yesterday while I was grocery shopping I was picking up some tamarind pulp in the Indian/Middle Eastern section and noticed a bag of ajowan (ajwain) seeds. A fairly large bag which filled up a pint jar. For a measly $1.78. (I love FoodMaxx and their crazy low prices!) They smell really potent; one description on the web says “a harsh thyme-like flavour with a bit of a kick, leaving a milder, pleasant aftertaste” and “The seeds are often chewed on their own for medicinal value, tasting bitingly hot and bitter, leaving the tongue numb for a while.” I just tried chewing on a tiny pinch; I can attest to the bitter taste and the thyme-like flavor. The thyme flavor comes from thymol, one of the main ingredients in Listerine mouth wash. It should be interesting trying them in some bread.

 
Leave a Reply

