Rusks; sorghum, rye flour, whole wheat

Anticipating that the rusks with 1/2 sorghum flour, 1/2 rye flour, and no baking soda will still be too crumbly I decided to try a recipe with 1/3 cup of each, and 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour. I’m also going to start weighing stuff and see if I can come up with some ratios I can use.

1/3 cup 50 grams whole grain pumpernickel rye flour
1/3 cup 46 grams sorghum flour
1/3 cup 44 grams whole wheat flour
1/3 cup 26 grams powdered non-fat milk
1/2 teaspoon 4 grams salt
3 tablespoons 16 grams dried instant potato flakes
1 cup 50 grams wheat bran
2 tablespoons 24 grams olive oil
3/4 cup 175 ml water

The dough is mixed and resting.

Later … finished baking and now cooling. It’s funny how much difference greasing the mini loaf pans makes. The bread just falls out as soon as they come out of the oven. It also shrinks a little bit which is why it just falls out of the loaf pan. It must be something to do with the margarine I’m using; it’s Shedd’s Spread Country Crock. It comes in an 8 ounce tub, a pair of them. I like buying stuff that comes in reusable containers with snap on lids and will buy something even though I’m not sure I’ll like it just because it comes in a nice container that I can reuse. I feel that one can’t have enough reusable containers. Although the cupboard above my fridge is close to full of reusable containers. My new motto is that one can’t have enough cupboard space for storing reusable containers with snap on lids.

Later … sliced and now drying in the dehydrator. My electric circular saw food slicer arrived and I sliced it with it. The slices are very thin, about the thickness of a nickle coin.

I used the same setting, 2, as I used on some left over heels that I purposely hadn’t sliced so I could test the slicer when it arrived. But these were thinner than those heel slices, I think because the first time I used it it had been set a a higher setting and I turned it down to 2 so it was a bit wider back then. This time I started at 0 and turned it up to 2. I need to remember to turn it above 2 by several marks, then turn it back down to 2.

But other than that the slicer is very nice. Consistent slice thickness every time.

Later, after drying … They came out nicely as far as the taste goes. The texture would be ok except that they still have those hard gritty bits. Not as many as when it was half sorghum and half pumpernickel rye.

Leave a Reply

