Rusks; rye flour, masa harina

Since I’m having so much fun with rye flour I decided to try it with masa harina. I made it half and half even though I suspect that the masa harina’s flavor may dominate. If so, I may try again with 1/4 masa harina.

Note: Dark rye flour is not pumpernickel flour. If you have pumpernickel flour you can use it but you must first sift it with a fine sifter and sift out any of the coarse bits of grain that are typically part of pumpernickel flour. If you leave them in, they turn hard as rocks when the slices are dried.

1/2 cup masa harina
1/2 cup dark rye flour
1 cup wheat bran
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato
2 tablespoons oil
3/4 cup (approximately) water

I used too much water; I can’t remember if I used 3/4 cup of water or a bit more than that. I had to put it back into the oven for 10 more minutes two times. Next time I’ll use at most 3/4 cup and not a bit more.

Later … The bread is sliced and drying. As an experiment I sliced the bread without chilling it in the fridge. That was a mistake I think; it was definitely too crumbly. It’s possible that’s from the masa harina but I think it was because the bread wasn’t thoroughly chilled.

Later, after drying … These came out very well. Good texture, strength, and snap, and an interesting flavor. Interesting in a good way. The masa harina flavor is fairly pronounced but it’s offset by the rye flavor; it’s a nice combination. I’m going to make another batch with not as much water, and be sure and let the loaf thoroughly chill in the fridge before I cut it. I’m thinking about adding some sesame seeds to it.

Leave a Reply

