Rusks; rye, sorghum, with spices, V3

This time I started with 1/4 teaspoon ajwain and 1.5 teaspoons of cumin but while I was grinding it in the mortar the smell of the ajwain was so strong that I increased the cumin to 2 teaspoons. Either the ajwain is very strong, which I’ve read, or perhaps the cumin is also accentuating its flavor.

I’ve been reading about how wonderful butter is with cooking so I’ve changed the recipe slightly; instead of 2 tablespoons of olive oil I used 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter.

Note: Dark rye flour is not pumpernickel flour. If you have pumpernickel flour you can use it but you must first sift it with a fine sifter and sift out any of the coarse bits of grain that are typically part of pumpernickel flour. If you leave them in, they turn hard as rocks when the slices are dried.

1/2 cup sorghum
1/2 cup dark rye flour
1 cup wheat bran
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato
2 teaspoons crushed cumin
1/4 teaspoon crushed ajwain
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
3/4 cup (approximately) water

The dough is resting.

Later, baked, sliced, and drying: I tasted some of the bits after slicing and I think this is going to be the proper ratio for cumin and ajwain. I could maybe tweak it by using 1.75 teaspoons of cumin. We’ll see after they dry.

Later, drying is finished: It’s an exotic flavor. It might be an acquired taste for some; definitely different if it’s not something you’re used to. Before drying the slices the cumin was a bit too strong; after drying it’s about even with the ajwain. I need to get other people to try it and see what they think.

Leave a Reply

