Rusks; rye flour, masa harina, V2

Last time I used too much water, this time I may have used too little. It was a very stiff dough when I turned it out into its greased bowl to rest. When I took it from the oven and out of the loaf pan and put it on the cooling rack it had some deep cracks in the sides. But they closed up when it cooled. I also spaced out and forgot to add the sesame seeds.

Note: Dark rye flour is not pumpernickel flour. If you have pumpernickel flour you can use it but you must first sift it with a fine sifter and sift out any of the coarse bits of grain that are typically part of pumpernickel flour. If you leave them in, they turn hard as rocks when the slices are dried.

1/2 cup masa harina
1/2 cup dark rye flour
1 cup wheat bran
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato
2 tablespoons oil
3/4 cup (approximately) water

It’s chilling in the fridge.

Later, after chilling and slicing … It looks like I used the correct amount of water; the loaf had a decent amount of moisture and sliced well. It was very dense. I mixed it the way I did the barley dough for crackers; slowly add water until it forms a dough ball and sticks to the paddle or gets knocked around by the paddle, then just enough more water so that it comes apart and turns into a stiff dough that sticks to the bowl. I also put it in the fridge before it was completely cool; it still felt a bit warm to the touch. I wrapped it in 2 paper towels and then in a plastic bag and put it in the bottom of the fridge. The slices are drying in the dehydrator.

Later, after drying … These came out great. The rye and masa harina is an excellent combination for the flavor. The flavor is an intriguing mix; neither one dominates.

I had dried them for 4 hours at 160 but the crackers on one of the trays were a tiny bit underdone so I did them for another hour. From now on I’ll always do them for 5 hours.

Leave a Reply

