Rusks; rye, masa harina, rice bran, pressure cooked

I’m trying an experiment with rice bran and cooking the bread in the pressure cooker. The rice bran is sort of sandy so I’ve been holding off testing it since the sorghum and masa harina are also sandy and I’d probably have to replace part of their percentage when using the rice bran. Since the pressure cooker method makes a moist dense loaf I decided to try the rice bran with it. I’m using 1/3 cup each of rye, masa harina, and rice bran, with the usual 1 cup of wheat bran.

Note: Dark rye flour is not pumpernickel flour. If you have pumpernickel flour you can use it but you must first sift it with a fine sifter and sift out the coarse bits of grain that are typically part of pumpernickel flour. If you leave them in they become hard as rocks when the slices are dried.

1/3 cup masa harina
1/3 cup dark rye flour
1/3 cup rice brain
1 cup wheat bran
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon oil
3/4 cup (approximately) water

It made a very stiff and sticky dough. The dough is resting.

The reason I let the dough rest is that I read that whole grain flours don’t absorb fluids as quickly as white wheat flour does. And that the bran needs extra time to soak up its fluids. Additionally, there is enzyme activity going on that adds complexity to the flavor of the bread, but that probably requires a longer rest (for example, a day).

Later, baked and cooling: Because I used the aluminum foil this loaf is much better than the previous one where I forgot to use it; no puddles on top, and the loaf isn’t shiny all over. Although it did have some condensation on the bottom, which I dabbed off with a paper towel. As with the previous loaf this loaf also didn’t rise at all so I’m guessing that I won’t need to grease the underside of the aluminum foil. When I put the aluminum foil on the pan I laid on the pan and then crimped it around all 4 edges; no tenting.

Later, sliced and drying: I sliced them on the 2 setting; previously I was slicing them at about 2.75 or 2.5 (the dial only shows whole numbers).

I tasted some of the crumbs and orts and this bread is amazingly tasty; almost sweet. Is it just the rice bran or the combination of it with the other flours? Hopefully it will retain this wonderful flavor after drying.

Later, after drying: I haven’t given them a day’s rest after drying, but so far these taste really great. The texture is good; perhaps a bit too thin which will make them difficult to use for scooping up dip. I think the rice bran weakened the crumb. But not a problem, I can make them a bit thicker next time.

Leave a Reply

