Rusks; drying in the dehydrator

Early this morning I tasted one of the rusks that I’d made with cumin and ajwain again that were drying and about halfway done and the cumin came through very nicely. Then later on I tasted one again and the cumin flavor was virtually gone. I’ve been drying them at the dehydrator’s highest setting, 160. They recommend drying nuts and seeds at 105 and herbs at 95 so I’m thinking that I could be drying them at too high a temperature so I’ll try using 95 next time.

Leave a Reply

