Rusks; sorghum flour, nigella, pressure cooked

I’m doing a test of sorghum flour, pressure cooked. I’m curious to see how the texture of the rusks from this comes out.  The flour has a  grainy texture so I’m hoping that the crackers won’t be tough.

I also added some nigella seed to test their flavor.

1 cup sorghum flour
1 cup wheat bran
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons instant potato
2 teaspoons nigella seed
2 tablespoons oil
1 cup (approximately) water

I sauteed the nigella seeds in the oil. I put a teaspoon of nigella seeds in a bowl and then added a tablespoon of the oil and then cooked them for 20 seconds on high in the microwave. I repeated that until they started producing microscopic bubbles and the bowl was very hot. I did that for each teaspoon of nigella seeds and tablespoon of oil. I didn’t want to scorch them so it’s possible I could have cooked them even more.

The water quantity is an approximation. I add the water slowly, 1 tablespoon at a time. When the dough starts sticking together in clumps I let it mix longer before I add each additional tablespoon. Unlike the other doughs, towards the end the sorghum flour dough does not clump together and stick to the mixer’s paddle. After I’d added about 3/4 cup of water I stopped the mixer and felt the dough; it was wet and grainy; sort of like a corn meal dough.

Then I put it in a greased plastic bowl with a snap on lid, but before putting its lid on it I press some plastic food wrap down onto the dough. Even with plastic on it the top darkens. I let it rest for at least an hour before I transfer it to the loaf pan and cook it.

The dough is resting.

The reason I let the dough rest is that I read that whole grain flours don’t absorb fluids as quickly as white wheat flour does. And that the bran needs extra time to soak up its fluids. Additionally, there is enzyme activity going on that adds complexity to the flavor of the bread, but that probably requires a longer rest (for example, a day).

After its rest I put it in the little loaf pan, covered it with aluminum foil, and cooked it at high pressure for 35 minutes, then let the pressure go down naturally.

I set up my pressure cooker by putting the pressure cooker’s trivet in it then I put the folding steaming basket on top of it (with its center handle removed). I wanted the loaf pan up away from the water and I wanted to put in several cups of water.

The cooked loaf is chilling in the fridge. I’ll slice it in the morning.

Later, sliced, dried, and a day after that: The texture is good. Not too hard. So I’ve found a way to use all that sorghum flour I bought! The flavor is nice as well. Nigella is probably an acquired taste. I like it; it’s different and exotic.

Leave a Reply

